12th Session of the workshop "Leadership and Teaching According to the Urantia Book" December 2nd: Revision

Urantia Association International Workshop 

Dear friends, readers, and students of The Urantia Book,

This is a reminder that the 12th Session of the Workshop “Leadership and Teaching According to The Urantia Book” is happening next Saturday, December 2nd, starting at 12:00 pm EDT USA (10:00 am Arizona, 11:00 am Central Time USA, 11:00 am Guatemala, 12:00 pm/noon Florida, USA, 2:00 pm Uruguay, 3:00 pm Brazil, 12:00 pm Lima, 5:00 pm Ireland, 6:00 pm Paris, WorldTimeZones Amsterdam, Brussels, Madrid, Stockholm, Vienna). Link to the virtual Zoom room: https://zoom.us/j/727832733

The 12th and 13th sessions will be presented by Guy Perron on the theme: The Inner Life
Going inward, upward, onward, outward

The world is filled with hungry souls who famish in the very presence of the bread of life; men die searching for the very God who lives within them. [1766.4; 159:3.8]

On Saturday December 2nd , we will cover the “inward-upward” segment and on the 9th, we will cover the “onward – outward” segment, more to come on the second part next week.
The Inner Life, segment 1, December 2nd 2017

Going inward and upward

It could be quite challenging for us human beings, humble ascending mortals, to grasp and truly understand what the purpose of an inner life is. Much of our life has to do with what is happening on the outside.
So what is an inner life? Do I really need an inner life? Why should I spend precious time developing my inner life?

Personality is inherently creative, but it thus functions only in the inner life of the individual. [1220.4; 111:4.5] It is only the inner life that is truly creative.[ 111:4.3]

When we are able to stop the outer activities and progressively cultivate silence and stillness, we can connect with other types of activities, the inner ones which allow us to enter within and find that inner space where our Divine Presence, our Beloved Thought Adjuster abides. In that space, we can develop with our Thought Adjuster this inner life from which a new reality can emerge, our soul. In that space, our soul can be nurtured and grow. When we regularly repeat the practice of these inner activities, we can perceive and feel more and more that we are truly the mother, the nurturer of our soul.

In our inner garden, we can cultivate higher fruits, the fruits of the Spirit that we manifest without in loving service. This is the way to the highest happiness.

The highest happiness is indissolubly linked with spiritual progress. Spiritual growth yields lasting joy, peace which passes all understanding. [100:4.3]

Do we want to experience and live this highest happiness? Do we want to feel in this inner space, this inner peace, this dynamic peace that surpasses all understanding? Yes? Most definitely? So let's begin and let's deepen our understanding of the inner life together in the union of our souls by sharing on how to go inward and upward.

Suggested readings: 

Paper 111: The Adjuster and the soul, especially section 4
Paper 91, section 9: Conditions of Effective Prayer / Paper 100, sections 1 and 2: Religious Growth, Spiritual Growth / Paper 101, section 1: True Religion / Paper 143, section 7: Teachings about Prayer and Worship / Paper 160, sections 1 and 3: Rodan's Greek Philosophy, The Lures of Maturity

Here are a few suggestions for morontial reflection. 

  • What is the inner life? What does it mean to me? How meaningful, valuable and precious is my inner life?
  • How can I access this inner world? How can I go within? How do I go inward? 
  • What do I consider as inner activities? Which ones do I practice?
  • How can I nurture my soul? 
  • "It is only the inner life that is truly creative". The Urantia Book provides an entirely new look at what creativity really is. How do I perceive this creativity in my own experience?
  • How can I go upward? How do I elevate my thinking? 
  • What do I understand about worship? Do I perceive the importance of putting time aside for your divine appointments? How do I worship?
  • How can I spiritualize my thoughts? 
  • What is essential for my religious growth? How do I cultivate religious habits? 
  • Do I pray? What do I pray for? 

Videos on SpiritualFamily.Net Youtube Logo
Search Videos:

Results (max 10):